Learning About Learning

My childhood was wonderful. I was home-schooled by my mother along with my sister who is five years younger. We did some formal schooling like math, grammar, science, history, and writing, but much of my learning came from reading and exploring different subjects that made me curious, with my mom’s help and the assistance of other mentors and the local library. Being home-educated gave me the time I wanted to devote to music after starting classical guitar lessons in second grade. I also loved to read and write for fun, and spend a lot of time outside in nature. Around twelve years old I began taking occasional classes on other subjects that I enjoyed with other home-schooled students. The only “real school” I ever attended was at eight, when I asked my mom if I could go to the local public school, but I disliked it so much that I stopped going after one semester.

At sixteen I became a guitar teacher. I only had ten or so students at the most, but it was a wonderful experience, especially due to the mentoring of my first guitar teacher who helped me the entire time and graciously allowed me to use a curriculum she had developed. When I went to college, I took a year and a half off from teaching, then at nineteen began teaching guitar again, this time as a licensed instructor in a national program. During that time I became very interested in the process of learning in children and youth and the history/theories of education in America. For the past five years, I have continued these studies through college classes, dozens of books, discussions with teachers, students, and parents, and observations from my own life experience.

This blog will document my search for answers as I explore learning and education. It is going to be an exciting journey which will take me beyond my city and out into the world to see everything for myself. Already plans are underway for some exciting voyages!

Why am I doing all this?

– It is a wonderful, worthwhile, interesting area of inquiry. Education affects everyone, whether they are in school or not, from infants to the very old. We are all capable of learning if we desire it!

– As a music teacher, the learning processes of my students are something important for me to understand. How children learn is a question every teacher should ask if they want to effectively aid their students.

– Someday I’d like to have my own children. By researching education before they arrive I will hopefully be better prepared to assist them in their life-long journeys of discovery.

– Who knows where I’ll end up in the future! I used to tell my mother that someday I would run my own school, where children loved to learn and had freedom to explore just like I did as a child. Maybe that will still happen. Life is full of possibilities!

This entry was posted in Exploring education, Homeschooling, Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

