Those Endless Steps

Just because you’re a good musician, does not mean that you will be a good music teacher.

Just because you’re a good music teacher, does not mean that you will be a good performer.

Just because you’re a good teacher, does not mean that you will be a good parent.

Sometimes you can be both. But not always.

Sometimes life feels like an unfair balance.

Learning these hard lessons is… well, hard.

The longer I am a teacher, the more I realize how much I don’t know.

The more I perform, the more I hear how flawed my performance is.

The longer I am a mother, the more I feel completely unqualified to parent.

The good part is….

…the longer I am a teacher, the more I am humbled and eager to learn from others.

…the more I perform, the more I fall in love with music.

…the longer I am a mother, the more I come to respect children, and to love my own child.

Interacting with others, especially in the role of mentor, teacher, or parent, is the best way to see your own weaknesses exposed. This week I’ve been taught how much I need to grow in patience, compassion, humility, self-control, and more patience. Did I mention patience? That’s a big one.

Sometimes we look at the future and only see endless steps of a hard climb ahead.

 

100_1483

Thank goodness that often what we see in the present is only a tiny glimpse of the incredible experiences that await us as we persevere to our goal.

100_1489

Aside | This entry was posted in Exploring education, Mothering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

