For All Former Home-schoolers Out There!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please let me know in the comments why you chose your particular answer! I would love to hear from you.

education

This entry was posted in Exploring education, Homeschooling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For All Former Home-schoolers Out There!

  1. Lauren says:

    I can’t decide! 🙂
    I was homeschooled from 2nd grade to high school and my partner was homeschooled kindergarten through 3rd grade. We always assumed we would homeschool our children until we had one. Our son is the most extroverted individual I’ve ever met. Everywhere we go he is engaging strangers in baby babble and picks up so much from them- mannerisms, words etc. His personality is not what I expected, having two introverted parents, but it has me question whether or not homeschooling would be best for him. We still have a few years and still leaning toward homeschooling, but we’re also looking into schools with innovative educational curriculums that will cultivate his personality and development in a very social environment.
    As a homeschooler I felt very isolated from my peers, literally and figuratively. Though I will be much more active in the community with my son (homeschooling or not) the isolation that I felt left such a strong memory. It was fine for me, a quiet daydreamer, but I’m not sure that type of learning would work for my son. Maybe once we’re past the toddler stage we’ll have a better idea!

    Leaving homeschooling much, much earlier than I worked best for my sister, who is also a social butterfly. She thrived in public school. So much seems to depend on the type of person our children are and what aspect of their personality we want to cultivate. I’m riding the fence.

Leave a Reply

